Our School

School is now closed for Summer GCSE results 25th July 2022

Contact us

For general enquiries please speak to our Receptionists Jo Wright or Carolyn Dodd
Telephone: 01924 303545
Fax: (01924) 303548
Email: info@beckets.bkcat.co.uk

Please note: This email address is for general information only. For confidential matters please telephone the school and ask to speak to the relevant person. Any correspondence or requests for information sent to school via hard copy or email during the school holidays can only be processed when the school re-opens.

Please send address correspondence to:

St Thomas à Becket Catholic Secondary School
Barnsley Road

Headteacher: Cathy Baxendale
Chair of Academy Council (governing body): Catherine Cooper CCooper@beckets.bkcat.co.uk
SENCO: Kelly Hale

We are part of The Bishop Konstant Catholic Academy Trust in the Diocese of Leeds. The address for the Trust office is:

The Bishop Konstant Catholic Academy Trust
St Wilfrid’s Catholic High School & Sixth Form College
Cutsyke Road

Telephone: 01924 802285
Email: admin@bkcat.co.uk
Trust website: bkcat.co.uk


Transport links:

By Car
The college is situated on Barnsley Road (A61). From the South leave the M1 at Junction 39 and head towards Wakefield, follow signs for Sandal.

From the North leave the M1 at Junction 41, head towards the centre of Wakefield and then follow signs for Barnsley (A61). The visitor’s car park is situated at the back of the school with access from Agbrigg Road.

By Bus
The following bus services travel down Barnsley Road and call at Wakefield Bus Station:

102 (Lupset – Wakefield – Eastmoor)
195 (Wakefield – Walton – New Crofton – Ryhill – South Hiendley – Hemsworth)
196 (Wakefield – Walton – New Crofton – Ryhill – Newstead – Hemsworth)
485 (Wakefield – Agbrigg – Crofton – Nostell – Ackworth – Badsworth – Upton – South Elmsall)
110 (Leeds – Lofthouse – Outwood – Wakefield – Kettlethorpe – Hall Green)
117 (Leeds – Wakefield – Ossett)
444 (Wakefield – Rothwell – Leeds)
446 (Wakefield – Woodlesford – Leeds)

By Train
Sandal and Agbrigg station (Wakefield Line) is a 5 minute walk from the college where a regular service runs to the following stations: Leeds – Outwood – Wakefield Westgate – Sandal and Agbrigg – Fitzwilliam – South Elmsall – Adwick – Bentley – Doncaster / Moorthorpe – Rotherham – Meadowhall – Sheffield.

Further information on all Wakefield transport including times, maps and routes can be found on the Metro website.

METRO have produced college transport guides for students and parents and can be downloaded from their website.